Constitution EXPLAINED: Foundations of the Constitution

The structure of the Constitution is built on three key principles: federalism, separation of powers, and check and balances.

Engage all your students, including Spanish speakers and multilingual learners, and deepen learning with the accompanying bilingual Teacher Guides. Each guide includes vocabulary words, guiding questions, instructional and video-viewing strategies, as well as lesson ideas in Spanish and English.


Students will be able to...

  • Explain the key principles of federalism, separation of powers, and checks and balances.
  • Discuss why the Framers divided government power in the Constitution.

This Video is included in the following units:

Related Resources